Blue Valley Libraries: ELA 10: Research Practice

Learning Targets

I can access, retrieve, evaluate, and use information to conduct research.
I can assess the value of articles from databases.
I can find the MLA source of an article.
I can effectively paraphrase information from a reputable article.

Database Off-Campus Passwords

Recommended Databases

Research Practice

1. Review search terms.

Search terms presentation

2. Review databases.

Recommended databases

3. In groups, begin the research process. First, choose your topic provided by Mrs. Neneman and/or Ms. Gojcevic.

4. Find at least one database source and answer the questions provided on the sheet below. Be sure to include the MLA citation and all information.

Group research sheet

HOMEWORK: Turn in your group research sheet by the end of the hour!

Databases and Online Resources

EasyBib Chicago Style Citation Help This link opens in a new window
EasyBib MLA 8 Citation Help This link opens in a new window
NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
Owl Purdue This link opens in a new window

BenSound This link opens in a new window
Creative Commons This link opens in a new window
The Noun Project This link opens in a new window
Photos for Class This link opens in a new window
Purple Planet This link opens in a new window
Searching for Royalty Free Images in Google This link opens in a new window
Unsplash This link opens in a new window

American Government This link opens in a new window
American History This link opens in a new window
Bloom's Literature Reference Online This link opens in a new window
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Data.gov This link opens in a new window
EbscoHost This link opens in a new window
EbscoHost Off-Campus This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Gale PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Geneology Connect This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
InfoTrac Newsstand This link opens in a new window
Kansas History, Territorial through Civil War Years, 1854-1865 This link opens in a new window
USA.gov This link opens in a new window
World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras This link opens in a new window
World History: The Modern Era This link opens in a new window

EbscoHost This link opens in a new window
EbscoHost Off-Campus This link opens in a new window
Gale PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
InfoTrac Newsstand This link opens in a new window
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
SIRS This link opens in a new window

Health Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Nursing and Mental Health Videos This link opens in a new window

American Battlefield Trust This link opens in a new window
American Memory This link opens in a new window
DocsTeach This link opens in a new window
Smithsonian Learning Lab This link opens in a new window
World Digital Library This link opens in a new window

EbscoHost This link opens in a new window
EbscoHost Off-Campus This link opens in a new window
Gale PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
PLOS This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Science Magazine This link opens in a new window

Big Future This link opens in a new window
CollegeBoard This link opens in a new window
Ebsco Learning Express This link opens in a new window
Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new window
Xello This link opens in a new window

Off-Campus Passwords This link opens in a new window The passwords for databases when you are off-campus. To find the password for this page, check your student planner.
EbscoHost Off-Campus This link opens in a new window

Contact a Librarian

Email Mrs. Neneman

Email Ms. Gojcevic