Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AP US History: Chicago Formatting

Turnitin.com

How to Enter a Footnote

On a PC: Ctl + Alt + F

On a Mac:  COMMAND + OPTION + F

Example Paper: Chicago Formatting

Click here to see an example of a paper using Chicago formatting.

Contact a Librarian

Commonly Cited Sources in Chicago Style

Chicago/Turbian uses footnotes, short notes, and a bibliography.  The footnote gets used in the text.  When citing a source more than once, you can shorten the footnote to a short note or, if applicable, to Ibid.  You will finally include the bibliography at the end.  

1. Book:

Footnote: 

First name Last name, Title of Book (Place of  publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number.

Siobhan Dowd, Bog Child (New York: Random House Children's Books, 2008), 18.

Short Note:

Last name, Title of Book, page number.

Siobhan, Dowd, Bog Child, 18.

Bibliographic Entry:

Last name, First name. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.

Dowd, Siobhan. Bog Child. New York: Random House Children's Books, 2008.

 2. Book with multiple authors:

Footnote:

First name Last name and First name Last name, Title of Book (Place of  publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number.

Max Thompson and Charles Ely, Birds in Kansas: Volume Two (Lawrence: University Press of Kansas, 1992), 17.

Short Note:

Last names, Title, page number.

Thompson and Ely, Birds in Kansas: Volume Two, 17.

Bibliographic Entry:

Last name, First name, and First name Last name.  Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.

Thompson, Max, and Charles Ely. Birds in Kansas: Volume Two. Lawrence: University Press of Kansas, 1992.

3. A webpage:

Footnote:

First name Last name, “Title of Web Page,” Publishing Organization or Name of Website in Italics, publication date and/or access date if available, URL.

Iris Tse, "Epilepsy: Symptoms and Treatment," LiveScience, February 6, 2016. Accessed September 15, 2016, http://www.livescience.com/34723-epilepsy- symptoms-and-treatment.html.

Short Note:

Last name, "Title of Web Page."

Tse, "Epilepsy: Symptoms and Treatment."

Bibliographic Entry:

Last name, First name. “Article Title.” Website Title. Month Date, Year of publication. Accessed Month Date, Year of access. URL.

Tse, Iris. "Epilepsy: Symptoms and Treatment." LiveScience. February 6, 2016. Accessed September 15, 2016.                                       http://www.livescience.com/34723-epilepsy-symptoms-and-treatment.html.

4. Online magazines:

Footnote:

First name Last name, "Article title," Magazine title, Publication date, Date of access, URL.

Alexandra Sifferlin, "Fewer Kids and Teens Are Dying from Cancer," Time, September 16, 2016, Accessed September 16, 2016, http://time.com/4496288/fewer-kids-teens-dying-cancer/?xid=homepage.

Short Note:

Last name, "Article title."

Sifferlin, "Fewer Kids and Teens Are Dying from Cancer."

Bibliographic Entry:

Last name, First name. "Article Title." Magazine title, Publication date. Date of access. URL.

Sifferlin, Alexandra. "Fewer Kids and Teens Are Dying from Cancer." Time, September 16, 2016. Accessed September 16,       2016. http://time.com/4496288/fewer-kids-teens-dying-cancer/?xid=homepage.

5. Database Article:

Footnote:
First name Last name, "Article Title," Journal name, volume, no. issue (year of publication): page number, Database name, (date of access), doi: xxxx OR URL.

Alexis Burling, "Book Publishing Comes to YouTube," Publishers Weekly 262, no. 7 (February 16, 2015): 22-26, Literary Reference Center, EBSCOhost (accessed September 16, 2016), http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=lfh&AN=101105086&site=ehost-live.

Short Note:

Last name, “Article Title,” page number.

Burling, "Book Publishing Comes to YouTube," 23.

Bibliographic Entry:

Last name, First name. "Article Title." Journal name volume, no. issue (year of publication). Page numbers. Database       name (date of access). doi:xxxx OR URL.

Burling, Alexis. "Book Publishing Comes to YouTube." Publishers Weekly 262, no. 7 (February 16, 2015): 22-26. (Accessed       September 16, 2016).   http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=lfh&AN=101105086&site=ehost-live.

6. Digital Image:

Footnote:

First name Last name, "Title," Digital image, Website Title, Month Date, Year Published, Accessed Month Date, Year, URL.

Jonathan Kriz, "Puppy," Digital image, Flickr, October, 2010, Accessed September 16, 2016, https://flic.kr/p/8SUChJ.

Bibliographic Entry:

Last name, First name. “Title.” Digital image. Website Title. Month Date, Year Published. Accessed Month Date, Year. URL.

Kriz, Jonathan. "Puppy." Digital image. Flickr. October, 2010. Accessed September 16, 2016. https://flic.kr/p/8SUChJ.

What does Ibid mean?

When citing from the same source multiple times on a single page, you can use Ibid with the new page number, or if the page number is the same, you can just use Ibid.  (See Mr. Winslow's example on Japanese internment.)

Example:

Siobhan, Dowd, Bog Child, 18.

Ibid. 60.

Ibid.