Blue Valley Libraries: AP Seminar: Home

Database Passwords

Click on the link to access all passwords. Type the database password provided by your librarians. After school hours, send us an email.

Not working from home?

Are you having trouble accessing the databases from home? The password not working? Let us know and we can help. Click here to email us.

Breakout of the Library

Breakout Link

BVW All Databases

Academic Search Premier Ebscohost This link opens in a new window
Contains a variety of resources all in one place - magazines, academic journals, popular newspapers and more.
Britannica Reference This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia with text, images and links.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
The Education Resources Information Center is an online digital library of education research and information.
Explora - Ebsco This link opens in a new window
All about magazines and newspapers.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Magazines, newspapers and journal articles from around the world. Takes a topic and gives it a global viewpoint.
GVRL This link opens in a new window
Nonfiction eBooks (True stuff)
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Historical events and individuals - journals and primary source documents.
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Information about authors and their works including literary criticism.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Access multiple viewpoints surrounding controverial topics.
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Specific information about scientific topis includes academic journal. Choose Browse to help pick a topic of interest.
SIRS Researcher This link opens in a new window
Pro/Con articles provided for controversial topics.
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents, articles, biographies and more all related to the United States history.
U.S. Newsstream - Proquest This link opens in a new window
Database of news articles.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents, articles, biographies and more all related to the world history.

Academic Search Premier Ebscohost This link opens in a new window
Contains a variety of resources all in one place - magazines, academic journals, popular newspapers and more.
Ancestry.com This link opens in a new window
Access original and primary documents from Ancestry's U.S. Collection.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text articles related to the art field of study.
Bloom's Literary Criticism This link opens in a new window
Find information about an author, title or subject area. Contains critical reviews from experts.
Britannica Reference This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia with text, images and links.
Britannica YA This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia with text, images and links. User-friendly and easier to read.
Cameron's Collection This link opens in a new window
eBooks covering a range of health topics including mental health.
Explora - Ebsco This link opens in a new window
All about magazines and newspapers.
Fold3 This link opens in a new window
Military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.
Gale Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biographical information
Gale Health Reference Collection This link opens in a new window
Health information
Gale Interactive Science This link opens in a new window
Access hundreds 3D models along with credible information related to the field of science.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Magazines, newspapers and journal articles from around the world. Takes a topic and gives it a global viewpoint.
Greenfile This link opens in a new window
Cover all aspects of human impact to the environment.
GVRL This link opens in a new window
Nonfiction eBooks (True stuff)
Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Historical events and individuals - journals and primary source documents.
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Pro/Con articles provided for controversial topics.
JoCo History Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Johnson County History
Kansas City and Regional Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspapers from the state. You will need a personal Johnson County Library login to access this database.
Kansas City Star Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Kansas City Star archives. You will need a personal Johnson County Library login to access this database.
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
Information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Information about authors and their works including literary criticism.
Newspapers.com This link opens in a new window
Archived newspapers from 1690–2019. Includes articles, advertisements, obituaries, marriages, crimes and more.
Newspaper Source Plus - Ebsco This link opens in a new window
Lots of newspapers
New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
New York Times archives.
Novels for Students This link opens in a new window
Novel overview with character information, themes and historical context. Includes literary criticism.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Access multiple viewpoints surrounding controverial topics.
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Specific information about scientific topis includes academic journal. Choose Browse to help pick a topic of interest.
SIRS Researcher This link opens in a new window
Pro/Con articles provided for controversial topics.
Peterson's Test Prep This link opens in a new window
Discover Advanced Placement practice exams, ACT and SAT practice tests, career Information, and more.
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents, articles, biographies and more all related to the United States history.
U.S. Newsstream - Proquest This link opens in a new window
Database of news articles.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wall Street Journal archives.
World Almanac This link opens in a new window
Facts about countries and other topics impacting our world.
World Book Encyclopedia - Advanced This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia with text, images and links.
World Book Encyclopedia - Student This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia with text, images and links. User-friendly with less text.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents, articles, biographies and more all related to the world history.
World News Database - Facts on File This link opens in a new window
Locate news from around the world.

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text articles related to the art field of study.
Academic Search Premier Ebscohost This link opens in a new window
Contains a variety of resources all in one place - magazines, academic journals, popular newspapers and more.
Peterson's Test Prep This link opens in a new window
Discover Advanced Placement practice exams, ACT and SAT practice tests, career Information, and more.
GVRL This link opens in a new window
Nonfiction eBooks (True stuff)

Bloom's Literary Criticism This link opens in a new window
Find information about an author, title or subject area. Contains critical reviews from experts.
Novels for Students This link opens in a new window
Novel overview with character information, themes and historical context. Includes literary criticism.
Academic Search Premier Ebscohost This link opens in a new window
Contains a variety of resources all in one place - magazines, academic journals, popular newspapers and more.
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Information about authors and their works including literary criticism.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Access multiple viewpoints surrounding controverial topics.
GVRL This link opens in a new window
Nonfiction eBooks (True stuff)
SIRS Researcher This link opens in a new window
Pro/Con articles provided for controversial topics.
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Pro/Con articles provided for controversial topics.
U.S. Newsstream - Proquest This link opens in a new window
Database of news articles.

Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Specific information about scientific topis includes academic journal. Choose Browse to help pick a topic of interest.
Gale Interactive Science This link opens in a new window
Access hundreds 3D models along with credible information related to the field of science.
Academic Search Premier Ebscohost This link opens in a new window
Contains a variety of resources all in one place - magazines, academic journals, popular newspapers and more.
GVRL This link opens in a new window
Nonfiction eBooks (True stuff)
SIRS Researcher This link opens in a new window
Pro/Con articles provided for controversial topics.

U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents, articles, biographies and more all related to the United States history.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents, articles, biographies and more all related to the world history.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Historical events and individuals - journals and primary source documents.
GVRL This link opens in a new window
Nonfiction eBooks (True stuff)
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Magazines, newspapers and journal articles from around the world. Takes a topic and gives it a global viewpoint.
World Almanac This link opens in a new window
Facts about countries and other topics impacting our world.

Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Magazines, newspapers and journal articles from around the world. Takes a topic and gives it a global viewpoint.
World Almanac This link opens in a new window
Facts about countries and other topics impacting our world.
Enciclopedia Britannica Escolar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia in Spanish.

Peterson's Test Prep This link opens in a new window
Discover Advanced Placement practice exams, ACT and SAT practice tests, career Information, and more.

Johnson County Library databases require a library card number and pin. No library card? Sign up online for a card. Must be 16 years old or older to do this step. If not 16, you can get a card by going to your local library branch. See Mrs. Munson or Mrs. Grimaldi if you have questions.

Gale Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biographical information
JoCo History Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Johnson County History
Kansas City and Regional Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspapers from the state. You will need a personal Johnson County Library login to access this database.
Kansas City Star Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Kansas City Star archives. You will need a personal Johnson County Library login to access this database.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
New York Times archives.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wall Street Journal archives.

Tips

1. Be critical evaluators of all information. Of course, we think the library databases provide the best resources - newspapers, magazines, reference articles and more. If you are on the free web like Google, make sure you know the author, source and date. Check to see who hosts the site.

2. Check the article date. If the article date is 2007, find a more recent article. Ideally, you would find an article from the past two years.

3. Narrow your focus with keyword searching.

Suggestion: Go to Opposing Viewpoints or Science in Context. Click the Advanced button > Topic Finder. See details.

4. Once you find a database article, look for suggested topics or related keywords. This can usually be found in the article sidebar.

I found an article! Now what?

* Make sure you save the article. Opposing Viewpoints and Science in Context allows you to save directly to Google Drive.

* Grab the citation (if available). All databases have citation tools.

* Read the article.