Blue Valley Libraries: Blue Valley Southwest Library Homepage: Databases

Database Access

Database Passwords - updated Aug.2022
Download the PDF to access database passwords at home. This is also available in Canvas if you cannot remember the password.

What are you looking for?

EBSCO (Explora) - BVSW This link opens in a new window
Rich, reliable, general content, generated for student use in schools and libraries. High quality, scholarly, and verified articles, easily accessible for students.
Encyclopedia Britannica - BVSW This link opens in a new window
This resource provides timely, relevant, and trustworthy information about a wide variety of topics, which can be useful in any content area.
Gale eBooks - BVSW This link opens in a new window
Nonfiction eBooks purchased by BVSW and available for student use. These often replace the books on the shelves that you may want/need for research. This used to be called GVRL.
Global Issues - BVSW This link opens in a new window
Search thousands of publications to find up to date research about issues around the world.
Issues & Controversies - BVSW This link opens in a new window
Explores hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Presented in a balanced, pro/con format, each article presents the key facts, arguments, history, and current context.
Opposing Viewpoints - BVSW This link opens in a new window
Use this resource to find magazine, newspaper, and journal articles about controversial topics.
ProQuest - BVSW This link opens in a new window
This is our most advanced research database, which will yield an extensive list of resources from publications and universities all over the world. Surely you will find what you are looking for whether it be for Social Studies, ELA, Science, Math, Art, etc.
SIRS - BVSW This link opens in a new window
SIRS provides articles, websites, videos, multimedia graphics, charts, maps, statistics, primary sources and government documents, hand-selected from thousands of national and international sources. This database is comprehensive and includes resources from all of the disciplines (content areas).
World Book - BVSW This link opens in a new window
General knowledge reference materials accessible at a variety of levels.
World News Digest - BVSW This link opens in a new window
News source that has covered every major event since for 75+ years, this database offers concise summaries of current events and clearly written essays on the top issues of the day.

Drama for Students This link opens in a new window
A subsection of Gale Virtual Reference Library, use this link to search specifically for information about plays and musicals.

Bloom's Literature - BVSW This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource for the study of literature. This database includes thousands of critical essays and discussion questions, plus author biographies and character analyses, full-length poems, the full text of hundreds of reference books, full-length videos of classic plays and films, and more.
Drama for Students This link opens in a new window
A subsection of Gale Virtual Reference Library, use this link to search specifically for information about plays and musicals.
Literary Reference Center - BVSW This link opens in a new window
A subsection of Ebsco, Literary Reference Center allows you to search for literary specific information with the ease of Ebsco's search tools. Find critiques, analysis and reviews here.
Literature - BVSW This link opens in a new window
This tool combines all of our ELA focused Gale databases in one place.
Searching is easy and comprehensive and includes a topic finder, term frequency graphs, and more.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Gale™ takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available: Literature Criticism Online. Imagine centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. The net result is tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays at your fingertips. It's all designed to raise the level of research while providing the around-the-clock remote access that today's researchers demand.
NoveList Plus - BVSW This link opens in a new window
NoveList Plus is a comprehensive readers' advisory resource for fiction and nonfiction. With an intuitive interface and extensive proprietary content, NoveList Plus answers the question: What should I read next? (Use the same login information as the other EBSCO database products)
Novels for Students This link opens in a new window
A subsection of Gale Virtual Reference Library, use this link to search specifically for information about novels.
Poetry for Students This link opens in a new window
A subsection of Gale Virtual Reference Library, use this link to search specifically for information about poetry.
Short Stories for Students This link opens in a new window
A subsection of Gale Virtual Reference Library, use this link to search specifically for information about short stories.

Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
This resource supports the information needs of patients and fosters an overall understanding of health-related topics: covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine.
Health Reference Center - BVSW This link opens in a new window

Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
This resource supports the information needs of patients and fosters an overall understanding of health-related topics: covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine.
Science in Context - BVSW This link opens in a new window
Use this resource to find science specific articles.
Today's Science This link opens in a new window
Today's Science bridges the gap between the science taught in class and real-world discoveries—giving in-depth explanations of important advances in biology, chemistry, the environment, space, physics, and technology.

Encyclopedia of World Biography eBooks This link opens in a new window
A subsection of Gale eBooks. Use this link to search specifically for information about world biographies. This is the digital version of a multi-volume set present in the BVSW Library.
History Reference Center - BVSW This link opens in a new window
A subsection of Ebsco, History Reference Center focuses your research on historical topics with the ease of Ebsco's search options.
Kansas History, Territorial through Civil War Years, 1854-1865 This link opens in a new window
Kansas History, Territorial through Civil War Years, 1854-1865 provides a core of primary source documents for the study of Kansas history, packaged with an engaging user interface that provides students and researchers multiple ways of accessing the content. With state and regional histories, biographies, speeches and more, the collection provides a range of primary documents.
World Almanac - BVSW This link opens in a new window
Reference source that provides access to authoritative, essential statistics on hundreds of topics in a searchable online format.

Learning Express Library This link opens in a new window
ACT, SAT, AP Exam practice tests!
Provided by the KS State Library & the Johnson County Public Library. You will need to register a new account, but there is no cost.