Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

China - 6th Grade Resources: Home

Resources for Research

Dynasty Research

Invention Research

Ready to Film? Use these resources!



Chinese Dynasty Timeline

Timeline of Chinese Dynasties and Other Key Events

ca. 2100-1600 BCE Xia (Hsia) Dynasty  
ca. 1600-1050 BCE Shang Dynasty Capitals: near present-day Zhengzhou and Anyang
ca. 1046-256 BCE Zhou (Chou) Dynasty Capitals: Hao (near present-day Xi'an) and Luoyang
  Western Zhou (ca. 1046-771 BCE)  
  Eastern Zhou (ca. 771-256 BCE) Spring and Autumn Period
(770-ca. 475 BCE)
    Confucius (ca. 551-479 BCE)
    Warring States Period
(ca. 475-221 BCE)
221-206 BCE Qin (Ch'in) Dynasty Capital: Chang'an, present-day Xi'an
    Qin Shihuangdi dies, 210 BCE
206 BCE-220 CE Han Dynasty  
  Western/Former Han (206 BCE-9 CE) Capital: Chang'an
    Confucianism officially established as basis for Chinese state by Han Wudi (r. 141-86 BCE)
  Eastern/Later Han (25-220 CE) Capital: Luoyang
220-589 CE Six Dynasties Period Period of disunity and instability following the fall of the Han; Buddhism introduced to China
  Three Kingdoms (220-265 CE) Cao Wei, Shu Han, Dong Wu
  Jin Dynasty (265-420 CE)  
  Period of the Northern and Southern Dynasties (386-589 CE)  
581-618 CE Sui Dynasty Capital: Chang'an
618-906 CE Tang (T'ang) Dynasty Capitals: Chang'an and Luoyang
907-960 CE Five Dynasties Period  
960-1279 Song (Sung) Dynasty  
  Northern Song (960-1127) Capital: Bianjing (present-day Kaifeng)
  Southern Song (1127-1279) Capital: Lin'an (present-day Hangzhou)
1279-1368 Yuan Dynasty The reign of the Mongol empire; Capital: Dadu (present-day Beijing)
1368-1644 Ming Dynasty Re-establishment of rule by Han ruling house; Capitals: Nanjing and Beijing
1644-1912 Qing (Ch'ing) Dynasty Reign of the Manchus; Capital: Beijing
1912-1949 Republic Period Capitals: Beijing, Wuhan, and Nanjing
1949-present People's Republic of China Capital: Beijing



More information here: