Skip to main content

Movement Project: Home

The purpose of this guide is to assist you with the Movement Project in Mr. Barden's and Mr. Wiseman's Social Studies Class

People on the Move

People on the Move!

Resources to help you research Movement,

whether its a physical challege, a historical movement or a social movement

The Hardest Challenge

Learning Option 1: Worlds Hardest Challenges and Races

 

People travel all over the world to test their own limits by exposing themselves to some of the world’s toughest challenges. Below are what you will be required to cover within your challenge

History/Background- 1) When did the race/challenge originate? 2) How many have completed the challenge? How many have died trying?

When and Where- 3) When is the race or challenge most often attempted? Where (Place) does it start and end?

What is the Race/Challenge- 4) explain what people have to do to finish?

Blue Valley Library Catalog

Search the Blue Valley Card Catalog to find books!

Resources for the Greatest Challenge

Trial Version-Gale Databases

The Link Below will take you to a trial versions of FOUR Gale Cengage Online Databases.  Biography Resource Center and U.S. History in Context should be very helpful for most people's project.  Please use it and tell us what you think.

https://galesupport.com/trialsite/php/generate_trial.php?un=1466181

 

Web Resources

Historic Movement of People

Learning Option 2: Historical Movements of People

What is a historical movement that you would like to explore deeper? Well, here is your chance! Go deep and see why that movement (people, idea, technology, music etc) in history changed the way we live our lives today. Below is what you and your partner will be required to cover within your Historical Movement.

History/Background- 1) When did this all begin? Why did it happen?

Place- Where did it originate and how did it spread? What made the spread possible?

Impact on Today- How has this movement impacted our world today?

Blue Valley MS Library Catalog

Search the Blue Valley Card Catalog to find books!

Historical Movement of People

Trial Version-Gale Databases

The Link Below will take you to a trial versions of FOUR Gale Cengage Online Databases.  Biography Resource Center and U.S. History in Context should be very helpful for most people's project.  Please use it and tell us what you think.

https://galesupport.com/trialsite/php/generate_trial.php?un=1466181

 

Web Resources

The following web resources would be helpful in learning about historical human migrations.

HISTORY OF MIGRATION

Map of Human Migration

Human migration

Human migration

Social Movements Among People

Learning Option 3: Social Movement

What is a social movement that you would like to explore deeper? Well, here is your chance! Go deep and see why that social movement in history changed the way we live our lives today. Below is what you and your partner will be required to cover within your Historical Movement.

History/Background- 1) When did this all begin? Why did it happen?

Place- Where did it originate and how did it spread? What made the spread possible?

Impact on Today- How has this movement impacted our world today?

Blue Valley Library Catalog

Click here for links to references, databases, and magazines.

Social Movement of People

Trial Version - Gale Databases

The Link Below will take you to a trial versions of FOUR Gale Cengage Online Databases.  Biography Resource Center and U.S. History in Context should be very helpful for most people's project.  Please use it and tell us what you think.

https://galesupport.com/trialsite/php/generate_trial.php?un=1466181

 

Create You Own Movement/Challenge

Learning Option 4: Create a Brand New Movement

What is something you want to fix in the world, at home, school, or city? What can you do about it? Well, here is an opportunity to create something completely original to what you want to accomplish. Here you tell me what you want to accomplish with this option and we will create a personal and unique requirements to your Movement. 

Blue Valley M.S. Catalog

Search the Blue Valley Card Catalog to find books!

Resources to Create Your Own Movement/Challenge

Trial Version - Gale Databases

The Link Below will take you to a trial versions of FOUR Gale Cengage Online Databases.  Biography Resource Center and U.S. History in Context should be very helpful for most people's project.  Please use it and tell us what you think.

https://galesupport.com/trialsite/php/generate_trial.php?un=1466181

 

Creating Your Own Social Movement/Challenge

Study the resources about social movements, migrations and changes in the other columns to learn more about creating your own social movement, change or challenge.

Library Media Specialist

Bill Hume's picture
Bill Hume
Contact:
Blue Valley M.S.
5001 W 163rd Terrace
Overland Park, KS
66085
913-239-5120

Presentation Options

Presentation Option 1: Shark Tank

Your goal is to “sell” your learning option to the rest of the class.  Think along the lines of Shark Tank, where you and your partner will share your learning option to the class in a fashion where they will want to invest in your movement, want to try the challenge, or believe . This presentation is done in person and if using visual aids, they can have NO MORE THAN FIVE WORDS ON A SLIDE. The phrase a picture is worth a thousand words is where this one is going. Minimum of 3 minutes but no more than 7.

Presentation Option 2: Video

Create a video to showcase your learning option, but just as with option 1, we are requiring that you tell your story and not write it out.

Presentation Option 3: Artifacts

 

Build a model to represent the movement in 3-D form. Has to get approval by the teacher. Also, provide written explanation of what it is and why it represents your movement.