ELA 12: Durnal Argumentative Research Essay

• I can conduct research to answer a question or solve a problem; narrow or broaden inquiry when appropriate; synthesize multiple sources about the subject.
• I can gather information from authoritative digital sources, using advanced searches, evaluate source materials; and integrate information to maintain fluency and avoiding plagiarism.
• I can draw evidence from literary or informational texts to support analysis, reflection, and research.

1. Review Noodletools and set up project for citations. Additional resources are listed below for your reference.

• Noodletools link
• How to export from a database article in Noodletools
• How to copy and paste a citation into Noodletools
• How to cite a webpage in Noodletools
• How to cite a live interview in Noodletools

2. Introduce argumentative databases. Find your first article.

• Gale databases overview (with instructions for annotations)
• Video tutorial for databases
• Image of recommended databases

3. Use the notes template from Canvas to write your background statement and begin taking notes over your first article.

• Link to Canvas assignment

1. Find your second article and cite it in Noodletools.

2. Take notes over your second article on your Canvas assignment.

• Link to Canvas assignment

3. Find 3rd article and take notes (if time)

• Image of recommended databases

1. Finish notes on 3rd article.

2. Be sure you have evidence that includes the counterargument as well as possible evidence to support a call to action. If not, that needs to be your 4th article.

3. Find 4th article and complete notes over it.

• Image of recommended databases

Research notes DUE November 4th at 11:59 PM!