Blue Valley Libraries: Argumentative Essay: Home

Helpful Databases:

For your essay, you MUST use at least 5 articles from the databases. If you are struggling to find articles on your topic, you need to speak with your ELA teacher and a librarian.

EBSCO (Explora) - BVSW This link opens in a new window
Rich, reliable, general content, generated for student use in schools and libraries. High quality, scholarly, and verified articles, easily accessible for students.
ProQuest - BVSW This link opens in a new window
This is our most advanced research database, which will yield an extensive list of resources from publications and universities all over the world. Surely you will find what you are looking for whether it be for Social Studies, ELA, Science, Math, Art, etc.
Opposing Viewpoints - BVSW This link opens in a new window
Use this resource to find magazine, newspaper, and journal articles about controversial topics.
SIRS - BVSW This link opens in a new window
SIRS provides articles, websites, videos, multimedia graphics, charts, maps, statistics, primary sources and government documents, hand-selected from thousands of national and international sources. This database is comprehensive and includes resources from all of the disciplines (content areas).
Issues & Controversies - BVSW This link opens in a new window
Explores hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Presented in a balanced, pro/con format, each article presents the key facts, arguments, history, and current context.

Getting Permalinks from Databases

You will need to create a Google Doc that houses all of the links to your articles; this way, you can easily find them again when we export the citations to NoodleTools.
Most databases require that you copy the "Permalink" for the article. Of course, every database is different when it comes to locating this link.
Please follow the instructions below for which link to copy/paste into your Google Doc from the specific database(s) that you use.

Opposing Viewpoints: Choose "Get Link" from the top toolbar above your article.

EBSCO: Choose "Permalink" from the toolbar on the right side of your article.

ProQuest, SIRS, & Issues & Controversies: Copy the URL.

Database Access from Home

BVSW Database Passwords
Download the PDF to access database passwords at home. This is also available in Canvas if you cannot remember the password.

Annotated Bibliography Resources

Purdue OWL
This is a great online resource to help answer any Annotated Bib questions as well as see examples.