"Auschwitz survivor displays tattoo." Image. Main Commission for the Prosecution of the Crimes against the Polish Nation, courtesy of USHMM Photo Archives. Daily Life through History. ABC-CLIO, 2012. Web. 4 Jan. 2012.
Five-sided badge issued to Helen Waterford identifying her as a prisoner from the Kratzau-Chrastava labor camp, a satellite camp of Gross Rosen in Czechoslovakia during World War II.
"Badge identifying slave laborer during World War II." Image. Helen Waterford, courtesy of USHMM Photo Archives. World History: The Modern Era. ABC-CLIO, 2012. Web. 4 Jan. 2012.
Red triangle patch worn by Czech political prisoner Karel Bruml in Theresienstadt. The letter "T" stands for the German word for Czech. During World War II, Nazi death camps and labor camps were populated not only by Jews, but political prisoners, homosexuals, Gypsies, and other groups. Many non-Jewish residents of countries occupied by Germany were sentenced to death or hard labor for opposing German rule.
"Red badge of Czech political prisoner." Image. Charles and Hana Bruml, courtesy of USHMM Photo Archives. World History: The Modern Era. ABC-CLIO, 2012. Web. 4 Jan. 2012.
A close-up detail from the original blueprints of the Auschwitz-Birkenau Nazi death camps as seen at an exhibition at the Yad Vashem Holocaust Museum in Jerusalem entitled "Architecture of Murder: The Auschwitz-Birkenau Blueprints" before it's official opening, January 24, 2010. The exhibition contains original blueprints of the Nazi death camps Auschwitz-Birkenau, where approximately one million Jews were murdered during World War I.
"A Close-Up Of The Original Blueprints Of The Auschwitz-Birkenau Death Camps Displayed At The Yad Vashem Holocaust Museum In Jerusalem." UPI Photo Collection. Global Issues In Context. Web. 4 Jan. 2012.
"Prisoners construct Krupp factory at Auschwitz." Image. Main Commission for the Prosecution of the Crimes against the Polish Nation, courtesy of USHMM Photo Archives. Daily Life through History. ABC-CLIO, 2012. Web. 4 Jan. 2012.
Slave laborers in the Buchenwald concentration camp near Jena, Germany on April 16, 1945. Many prisoners had died from malnutrition before U.S. troops of the 80th Division entered the camp.
"Slave laborers at Buchenwald concentration camp." Image. National Archives. World History: The Modern Era. ABC-CLIO, 2012. Web. 4 Jan. 2012.
Jewish prisoners of the Sachsenhausen concentration camp
in Germany on December 19, 1938. Prisoners
of Sachsenhausen were forced to counterfeit
millions of dollars in British and American currency.
"Concentration camp prisoners in Sachsenhausen." Image. National Archives.
World History: The Modern Era. ABC-CLIO, 2012. Web. 4 Jan. 2012.
Jewish prisoners of the Sachsenhausen concentration camp
in Germany on December 19, 1938. Prisoners of Sachsenhausen
were forced to counterfeit millions of dollars in British
and American currency.
"Concentration camp prisoners in Sachsenhausen." Image. National Archives. World History: The Modern Era. ABC-CLIO, 2012. Web. 4 Jan. 2012.