Research Requirements: Project Overview
Must use 3 or more sources.
3-4 Total Notes, each note from a separate topic category and on a specific topic (ie: pop culture: fashion, famous people: Elvis, etc.)
Daily grade on class note
MLA Bibliography, including class notes citation
Following Rules of not plagiarizing
Reminder: Notes should be several lines of bullets, not one or two bullets
Reminder: Bibliography is MLA and rules of capitalization change. In MLA, you capitalize all important words, but not words like the, an, a unless it is the first word or first word in subtitle: (ie: This Century: The Guide to Life in the 1960's)
What to put in My Ideas/Original Thinking Box
Essential Questionto Answer:
***Remember, this is an opinion backed by evidence from your card-at least a paragraph-this box will help you most in your essay). Think of this as the "So What?"
How do people's journeys affect their understanding of people and the world around them?
Gale Database
To get to from home,
UN: lower case, one word:
p..............e (our name)
This may be all you need.
pw: school mascot... We are the.... (plural)
World Book and Britannica Encyclopedias
UN: bl..va...ysd
PW: We are at school to l..rn
ABC Clio Pop Culture Database
Sourcing Databases and Encyclopedia
Remember, for this project you use MLA Advanced, NOT APA.
Sourcing Book Video
Sourcing Database (Remember, on the databases you use, you can copy the citation and click on Noodletools tab in the database and it will import it into noodletools)
My Ideas
A Field Trip through the 1960s Sourcing
Take a Field Trip through the 1960s. Washington, D.C.: United States Postal
Service, 1998. Print.
Research Categories
In your noodletools notes, research should cover the following topics: Connections to the Outsiders, Pop Culture, and Political Events and Leaders. Choose a subtopic within the big categories for your research.
(Remember, bulleted notes capturing key concepts in own words. Lable notes by topic) See video on the left if you need further notetaking instruction.
You need to pick 3-4 topics to research. Research must cover at least 3 topics and 3 categories:
Connections to The Outsiders: Slang, Cars (Mustang/Corvette), Will Roger, Drive-in Movie Theater, Teen gangs and violence, The Beatles, Hank Williams, Life in Tulsa Oklahoma, Police in the 1960s (policing), Gone with the Wind, Robert Frost, Dairy Queen, Cigarettes (The Marlboro Man), Poverty 60s, Juvenile Delinquency, Medical treatment for burns (Excision and Grafting), Greasers
Pop Culture: Slang, Pop Art, Beatnik Poetry, Youth Counterculture, Fashion, Greasers, Youth sit-ins, fads Music: Motown, Rock, Protest, Pop, Folk, Woodstock, Mick Jagger, Jimi Hendrix, The Monkees, Beatles, Beach Boys, Bob Dylan, etc. (Research only in the time, not their life story), Books (Dune, To Kill a Mockingbird, Catch 22), Overviews of (Fashion, Sports, Lifestyle, Medicine, Science, etc)
Political Events and Leaders: Voting Acts, Civil Rights Movement, Both Kennedy Assassinations, Cuban Missile Crisis, Vietnam War and war protests, Martin Luther King assassination, 1968 Democratic Convention, Watts Riot, Women's Movement, Kent State Protest, The Kennedys: John, Jackie, Robert (Bobby), March on Washington, Letters to Birmingham Jail, I Have a Dream Speech, Birimingham 4 (1963 Church Bombing), LGTBQ+ Movement and Stonewall Riots, Thurgood Marshall, Martin Luther King, Medicare, Poverty, Government in the United States: 1960
Joining Noodletools
Research Expectatoins
The first step is to take get an overview of your issue. Your notes should be from a reputable organization or news agency or magazine (see CARS evaluating websites). If you're not sure about the reputation of information, ask before taking notes. Once ou have decided upon the sources you'll be using, create an MLA advanced citation in noodletools and then begin your online notes in noodletools.
You may use following resources: (Use ABC Clio, Gale or Pulled materials first)
_____ ABC Clio Pop Culture Database (Most recommended: remember, each separate article is a separate book or toher source)
_____ Gale database (Most recommended: remember, each separate article is a separate book or toher source)
_____ Books (more reliable than websites for the 1960's since that is not current history)
_____ Newspapers, and other primary artifacts from the times (again, more reliable)
_____ Take a Field Trip Through the 1960s: Post Office Cards
Noodletools Refresher