Skip to main content

ELA 12: Argumentative Research Essay

ELA 12 Argumentative Essay

Learning Targets:
  • I can write an argument to support claims in an analysis of substantive topics or texts, using valid reasoning and relevant and sufficient evidence.
  • I can conduct research to answer a question or solve a problem; narrow or broaden inquiry when appropriate; synthesize multiple sources about the subject.
  • I can gather information from authoritative print and digital sources, using advanced searches, evaluate source materials; and integrate information to maintain fluency and avoiding plagiarism.
  • I can draw evidence from literary or informational texts to support analysis, reflection, and research.
  • I can demonstrate understanding of figurative language, word relationships, and nuances in word meanings.
  • I can acquire and use general and domain-specific words and phrases; demonstrate independence in gathering vocabulary knowledge.
Assignment and Prompts:

Assignment:  Select one of the following prompts and write a fully-developed and researched argumentative essay in response. Be sure to evaluate sources wisely, develop points with logic and reasoning, anticipate/refute opposition points, and document sources.

  • Prompt #1

In Great Britain, cities began installing video surveillance systems in public areas in the 1970s. Today, all around the world, surveillance is used more than ever. Police departments claim these cameras help them do their jobs more efficiently. For example, such cameras enabled police to identify and capture terrorists who bombed the London subway in 2005. Opponents of the cameras say that public surveillance creates a society that severely compromises the right personal privacy. How do you feel about this issue?

  • Prompt #2

Technology is ubiquitous and many of us cannot imagine living even one day without some kind of screen time. Even schools are putting screens in the hands of kids without much consideration for the effects of too much screen time. Advocates of technology cling to the notion that the business world runs on technology and we must prepare our students for that world, while opponents point to the most recent studies that reveal some dramatic ills about screen time effects. Where do you stand with the screen time debate?

  • Prompt #3

Waste is everywhere.Describe what you see as the biggest waste at your school, home, or job.What are the “costs” either in dollars or in harm to the environment or resources?Identify what you feel should be done to alleviate this waste, and argue for a change in behavior or practice that will motivate people to do something about this problem.

  • Prompt #4

Of your own choosing, but it must be approved by your teacher AND narrow enough to be covered in the page allowance.  You must present your potential topic to your teacher no later than 10/9 - 10/10 for approval.


Requirements:
  • MLA formatting and documentation
  • 3.5-4 pages
  • Minimum of 3 credible and academic sources used and incorporated into your argument
  • Evidence of the writing process:  pre-writing, drafting, revising, editing, publishing
  • Focus on research skills and development of logical reasoning
  • Varied/correct use of domain-specific vocabulary and nuanced vocabulary choices
  • Natural incorporation of source materials into your writing through summary and paraphrase
Important Deadlines/Dates:
  • Introduce essay, rubric, timelime, read/discuss sample:  Tuesday 10/1
  • Review thesis structure, read/discuss sample w/ a partner from Patterns text, continue brainstorming/prewriting: Block Day 10/2 – 10/3
  • Research time in library w/ databases & citation mini-lesson:  Block Day 10/9 – 10/10
  • Review argumentative essay outline & finish research:  Friday 10/11
  • Mini-lesson on embedding quotations, create color-coded thesis & outline essay:  Monday 10/22
  • Thesis/outline due at beginning of hour for teacher conference, draft your essay:  Block Day 10/23 – 10/24
  • Rough draft due & peer editing workshop:  Friday 10/25
  • Revise draft:  Monday 10/28
  • Final copy of essay due:  Tuesday 10/29 at 10 pm
Important Notes:
  • Prewriting (in class): Thursday 10/11                  
  • Begin researching Monday and Tuesday 10/15-10/16
  • Sources approved in class Block 10/17-18
  • Thesis and formal outline due at end of class Block 10/17-18
  • First draft due to Canvas and paper copy for peer editing Monday 10/22
    • BRING PAPER COPY TO CLASS ON MONDAY!
  • Submit Final copy to Canvas by 11pm on MONDAY OCTOBER 29th

Argumentative Research Sources:  CRAAP Template:

 ELA 12 -- ARGUMENT

Description

Exceptional

Skilled

Proficient

Developing

Inadequate

 

Claim and Structure:

The text introduces a clear, arguable claim.

The text introduces a compelling claim that is clearly arguable and takes a purposeful position on an issue.

The text introduces a precise claim that is clearly arguable and takes an identifiable position on an issue.

The text introduces a claim that is arguable and takes a position.

The text contains an unclear or emerging claim that suggests a vague position.

The text contains an unidentifiable claim or vague position.

 

 

_________/5

Development:

The text provides sufficient data and evidence to back up the claim while pointing out the strengths and limitations of both the claim and counterclaim. A conclusion that supports the argument.

The text provides convincing and relevant data and evidence to support the claim and skillfully addresses counterclaims. The conclusion effectively strengthens the claim and evidence.

The paper is a minimum of 3 pages and a maximum of 4.

The text provides sufficient and relevant data and evidence to support the claim and fairly addresses counterclaims. The conclusion effectively reinforces the claim and evidence.

The paper is a minimum of 3 pages, and a maximum of 4.

The text provides data and evidence to support the claim and addresses counterclaims. The conclusion ties to the claim and evidence.

 

 

The paper is a minimum of 3 pages and maximum of 4.

The text provides data and evidence that attempt to support the claim and unclearly addresses counterclaims. The conclusion merely restates the position.

 

 

The paper is over 2.5 pages, and under maximum of 4 pages.

The text contains limited data and evidence related to the claim and counterclaims or lacks counterclaims. The text may fail to conclude the argument or position.

 

 

The paper is less than 2.5 pages, or over 4 pages.

 

 

 

 

 _________/30

Audience:

The text anticipates the audience’s knowledge level, concerns, values, and possible biases about the claim. The text addresses the specific needs of the audience using an appropriate tone.

The text consistently addresses the audience’s knowledge level, concerns, values, and possible biases about the claim. The text addresses the specific needs of the audience.

The text anticipates the audience’s knowledge level, concerns, values, and possible biases about the claim. The text addresses the specific needs of the audience.

The text considers the audience’s knowledge level, concerns, values, and possible biases about the claim. The text addresses the needs of the audience.

The text illustrates an inconsistent awareness of the audience’s knowledge level and needs.

The text lacks an awareness of the audience’s knowledge level and needs.

 

 

 

 

 _________/10

Techniques:

The text uses argumentative techniques to strengthen the persuasiveness of the claim.

The text skillfully uses argumentative techniques such as logos, ethos, pathos to create a strong, persuasive argument.

The text effectively uses argumentative techniques such as logos, ethos, pathos to create a strong, persuasive argument.

The text uses argumentative techniques such as logos, ethos, pathos to create the argument.

 

The text makes some use of argumentative/persuasive techniques.

 

The text lacks use of argumentative/persuasive techniques.

 

 

 

_________/10

Sources:

Text uses 3 credible sources to provide relevant, supporting data evidence for argument.

 

The text skillfully uses 3 credible, relevant sources to effectively strengthen and support the argument.

 

The text effectively uses 3 credible, relevant sources to strengthen and support the argument.

 

The text uses 3 credible, relevant sources to strengthen and support the argument.

 

The text makes some use of credible, relevant sources to support the argument.

 

The text lacks credible, relevant sources to support the argument.

 

 

 

 

_________/15

Cohesion:

Text uses words, phrases, and clauses with varied syntax to link sections of text; creates cohesion & clarifies the relationship between claim & reasons, reasons & evidence, & claims & counterclaims.

The text strategically uses words, phrases, and clauses as well as varied syntax to link the major sections of the text. The text explains the relationship between the claim and reasons as well as the evidence.

The text strategically links the counterclaims to the claim.

The text skillfully uses words, phrases, and clauses as well as varied syntax to link the major sections of the text. The text identifies the relationship between the claim and reasons as well as the evidence.

 

The text effectively links the counterclaims to the claim.

The text uses words and phrases, and clauses as well as varied syntax to link the major sections of the text. The text connects the claim and reasons.

 

 

 

The text links the counterclaims to the claim.

The text contains limited words, phrases, and clauses to link the major sections of the text. The text attempts to connect the claim and reasons.

 

 

 

 

The text does not link the counterclaims to the claim.

The text contains few, if any, words, phrases, and clauses to link the major sections of the text. The text does not connect the claims and reasons.

 

 

 

 

No counterclaims are mentioned. 

 

 

 

 

 

_________/10

Sentence Structure:

The text uses correct, concise sentence structure to convey ideas and incorporate sources.

All sentences are well constructed, concise, with varied structure. They clearly convey ideas, and smoothly incorporate/embed source material.

Most sentences are well constructed and have varied structure and length. Source material is smoothly incorporated/embedded.

Sentences are generally well constructed, but they have a similar structure and/or length and are awkward at times. Source material is incorporated.

Many sentences sound awkward, are distractingly repetitive, or are difficult to understand. Some attempt to embed source material.

Sentences sound awkward, are repetitive, or are difficult to understand. The text often lacks correct, clear sentence structure and incorporation of source material.

 

 

 

 

 

_________/10

Conventions:

The text follows standard English conventions of usage and mechanics.

 

 

The text follows MLA formatting

for style, documentation, and citation(s).

The text contains few errors in mechanics, employs a variety of punctuation, and produces an essay that is exceptionally easy to read. 

 

The text follows MLA parenthetical documentation and works cited formats.

 

 

All MLA stylistic conventions are followed.

The text contains some errors in mechanics and has less varied punctuation, but the essay is still easy to read.

 

 

 

The text follows MLA parenthetical documentation and works cited formats with minimal errors.

 

MLA stylistic conventions are followed with only one minor error.

The text contains errors in mechanics that catch the reader's attention but do not significantly interrupt the flow.  Some attempt at varied punctuation.

 

The text follows MLA parenthetical documentation and works cited formats with some errors.

 

MLA stylistic conventions are followed with minimal errors.

The text contains errors in mechanics that catch the reader's attention and begin to interrupt the flow. Minimal variety in punctuation.

 

 

The text sometimes lacks parenthetical documentation and does not always follow the works cited format.

 

MLA stylistic conventions are followed at times.

The text mechanical errors that catch the reader's attention and definitely interrupt the flow. No variety of punctuation.

 

 

The text does not follow parenthetical documentation or works cited formats.

 

 

Many MLA stylistic conventions are in error.

 

 

_________/10

 

 

 

 

__________/15

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               Total:  ______ / 115

Argumentative Essay CRAAP Test

You must choose "File" "Make a Copy" and change your title!  

MLA In-Text Citation Examples

MLA High School In-Text Citations

Blank Container Sheet

Sample Container Sheet

Databases and Online Resources

Database Off-Campus Passwords

Databases

Gale Databases:

Gale Power Search

Global Issues in Context

Opposing Viewpoints

Gale Virtual Library - "library"

EBSCO

EbscoHost

EbscoHost Off-Campus

Infobase:

Issues and Controversies

Bloom's Literature

Sirs:

Sirs

General Formatting: MLA

Ways to Introduce Quotes:

Examples of introducing Direct Quotes.

1.  This physician, who specializes in mental health, suggests, "

2.  According to Smith a noted scientist, "

3.  This US District Attorney Waters emphasizes,"

4. "Quote...," the noted attorney Masters remarked.

*No quote bombs at the beginning accepted!

Examples of Using Indirect Quotes.

1.  (Auletta 7).

2. (Shaer).

3. ("Mammals: Tiger").

Noodletools Project

Noodletools Project Set-Up for CItations

1.  Seniors Argumentative Paper

2. MLA

3.  Advanced

4.  Submit

Easybib

OWL Purdue In-Text CItations