Blue Valley Libraries: Leochner's Gilded Age Comparison: Home

Databases

ABC Clio - BVSW This link opens in a new window History specific database where you can search by search term or time period.
History Reference Center - BVSW This link opens in a new window A subsection of Ebsco, History Reference Center focuses your research on historical topics with the ease of Ebsco's search options.
EBSCO (Explora) - BVSW This link opens in a new window Rich, reliable, general content, generated for student use in schools and libraries. High quality, scholarly, and verified articles, easily accessible for students.
SIRS - BVSW This link opens in a new window SIRS provides articles, websites, videos, multimedia graphics, charts, maps, statistics, primary sources and government documents, hand-selected from thousands of national and international sources. This database is comprehensive and includes resources from all of the disciplines (content areas).
Encyclopedia Britannica - BVSW This link opens in a new window This resource provides timely, relevant, and trustworthy information about a wide variety of topics, which can be useful in any content area.
Opposing Viewpoints - BVSW This link opens in a new window Use this resource to find magazine, newspaper, and journal articles about controversial topics.
Global Issues - BVSW This link opens in a new window Search thousands of publications to find up to date research about issues around the world.

Census Data

Image Links

Images

Use the following links to find images to use. You may also take your own photos and use them.

Photos for Class Search for copyright free images AND it cites it for you.

Creative Commons Great search engine to search Flickr, Google Images, and more for images you can use.

NYPL Digital Images - free (somewhat historical) images that have been digitized from the New York Public Library

Photo Pin Easy search system, lots of interesting images.

FlickRiver Searches Flickr for images. Easy browsing system.

Wikipedia List of Public Domain Sources Links to a lot of GREAT collections of images you are free to use. Lots of subject specific collections.

American Memory Project Place to find historical images to use.

Assignment Information

Task: Your team will choose a topic that has relevance to both America in 2016 and America during the Gilded Age. Once you have chosen a topic your first step is to conduct research. Upon completion of the research component you will then use the information you have gathered to create an informative presentation of the information to an audience of your peers and Mr. Leochner.

Potential Topics:

Immigration
Wealth Gap
Industrial Regulation
Gender Equity
Threats to the free market
Environment
Urban issues
Speculation
Technology
Conservation
Political special interests/money influence
Minority Rights

Assignment

Final Product Ideas

Sock Puppets

Tellagami

Movie

PSA

Explain Everything

Toontastic

Stop Motion Animation

Other ideas?? Up to your imagination!

Leochner's Gilded Age Comparison: Home

Databases

Image Links

Use the following links to find images to use. You may also take your own photos and use them.

Assignment Information

Final Product Ideas

File Submission - Dropbox